The Script function provides the latest information on the bulletin board in the middle block browsing, if your browser does not support this feature, nor does it affect you read this website information.
::: * History
*  Printer Friendly (New Window)    Font Size  Font Size Small Font button Font button in the font Font Size Large Font button   

The Institute of History and Philology was established in 1928.  Early that year, Fu Ssu-nien, a member of the Academia Sinica preparatory committee of the Daxue Yuan (i.e. Ministry of Education) recommended that the body’s director Tsai Yuan-pei establish the IHP.  In March, Academia Sinica undertook more concerted preparations for the institute at Sun Yat-sen University in Guangzhou, with Fu Ssu-nien, Ku Chieh-kang, and Yang Chen-sheng in charge.  The IHP was officially established in July, and Fu was placed in charge of everyday operations.  On October 22, the IHP relocated to Boyuan, Guangzhou, and for the first time had its own independent premises.  It was later agreed that this date would serve as the institute’s anniversary.

The IHP was initially divided into eight sections in Guangzhou: historical documents, the Mandarin Chinese language, textual studies, folk arts, Chinese characters, archaeology, anthropology and ethnographic materials, and Dunhuang materials.  In 1929, the institute moved to Beijing, and reorganized the eight original sections into three: History, which carried out historical research and edited of historical texts; Linguistics, which focused on linguistic research and folk arts; and Archaeology, which engaged in archaeological, anthropological, and ethnographic research.  The chairpersons of these sections were Chen Yin-k’o, Chao Yuen-ren, and Li Chi respectively.  The IHP was relocated to Shanghai after the Mukden Incident (1931), and then again in 1934 to Nanjing after the construction of its new premises in that city was complete.  A fourth section was added for Anthropology in May of that year.

During the Second Sino-Japanese War, the IHP relocated first to Changsha, Hunan, then to Kunming, Yunnan, and finally to Li Zhuang Banli’ao in Nanxi County, Sichuan.  In 1946, the IHP returned to Nanjing, and continued its work.  It also acquired the holdings of the Beiping Oriental Research Institute and Modern Science Library, and established the Beiping Books and Historical Materials Processing Office.  Amidst social and political tumult in the winter of 1948, the IHP abruptly evacuated its scholars and staff, books, and artifacts to Taiwan under the leadership of Fu Ssu-nien.  The IHP temporarily settled in Yangmei, Taoyuan County before relocating to Academia Sinica’s permanent premises in Nangang in the spring of 1954.  With more stable political conditions and economic development, the IHP was able to grow and expand continuously. 

In 1954, the IHP’s physical premises consisted of a research building and storage building.  In 1957, an archaeology building was constructed.  Another building was added behind it in 1968.  The Fu Ssu-nien Library was built in 1960.  Two expansions of the library were added in 1978 and 1989 respectively.  In 1986, the Museum of the Institute of History and Philology was completed and opened.  In 1994 the new Research Building was completed, bringing the IHP’s facilities to their current scale.  The rear section of the Taiwan Archaeological Studies Building was tore down and rebuilt.  It was completed in July 2012.

The institutional structure of the IHP also underwent numerous changes after Academia Sinica settled in Nangang.  In 1958, the Oracle Bones Research Center was established.  It was renamed the Philology Section in 1990.  There are three separate buildings which house the IHP’s important books and artifacts: the Fu Ssu-nien Library, the Museum of the Institute of History and Philology, and the Taiwan Archaeological Studies Building. Starting in 1995, research centers were established to bring together resources and facilitate collaboration between the IHP and outside researchers.  At present there are nine research centers: Cultural and Intellectual History, Legal History, Archaeology of Taiwan and Southeast Asia, Images and Artifacts, Custom, Religion and Daily Life, History of Health and Healing, World History, Ancient Civilizations, and Digital Humainities. This is in addition to five other groups, the Grand Secretariat Archives Project, and group for Scripta Sinica, GIS, Bronze Inscriptions, and Anyang.  Finally, there are three laboratories, one for Bones and Physical Anthropology laboratory, one for Cultural Relic Preservation, and the Archaeometry Laboratory.  In 1997, the Linguistics Section established the planning office for the Institute of Linguistics.  Even so, the IHP retained its original name, and was divided into the four sections of History, Archaeology, Anthropology, and Philology.  In 2003, in accordance with an Academia Sinica policy, sections were redesignated “departments.”  Each department has a chairperson responsible for directing its personnel, administrative and scholarly matters.  Furthermore, in order to systematically manage all the documentations collected throughout the years, utilize digital resources and enhance inter-library cooperation, the IHP Archives was ordered to be established in 2014.  (See the organizational structure chart.)

Humanities research must place equal weight on scholarly collaboration and the of efforts individuals working independently, that is, at the same time respect the individual’s specialization, and encourage collaborative research when opportune.  The IHP continues to uphold this principle, valuing individual research and encouraging fellows to become leaders in their individual fields, while at the same time using research programs to indentify and support several areas of particular focus for interdisciplinary or institute-wide research.  It is hoped that research fellows will expand their scholarly purviews and perspectives and think of the many types of research we engage in from an Asian, and indeed, a global perspective, striving to work with an eye to comparison across time and space.  At the same time, we are working to organize and publish the scholarly data and materials housed at the IHP and expand our digital presence in order to establish an even more comprehensive and accessible forum for Sinological research and exchange of a global caliber.

back top

本Script功能提供網頁圖片載入,若您的瀏覽器不支援此項功能,也不影響你閱讀本網站資訊。
::: * 簡史
友善列印圖飾  友善列印(另開新視窗)    字級設定  字級設定小字型按鈕 字級設定中字型按鈕 字級設定大字型按鈕   

本所成立於1928年。是年初,大學院中央研究院籌備委員傅斯年向大學院院長蔡元培建議設置歷史語言研究所。3月,本院於廣州中山大學籌設歷史語言研究所,聘傅斯年、顧頡剛、楊振聲三人為常務籌備員。7月,正式成立,由傅斯年代行所長職務。10月22日遷入廣州柏園,始有獨立所址,後經議定,以此日為本所所慶紀念日。

初在廣州,分設史料、漢語、文籍考訂、民間文藝、漢字、考古、人類學及民物學、敦煌材料研究等八組。1929年遷北平,將原設八組歸併為三個學術組,一為歷史學組,從事史學及文籍考訂;二為語言學組,從事語言學及民間藝文;三為考古學組,從事考古學、人類學及民物學,並分別聘請陳寅恪、趙元任、李濟為一、二、三組主任。九一八事變 (1931)後由北平遷上海。1934年,本院在南京之建築陸續竣工,本所亦由上海遷至南京。同年5月增設人類學組。

中日戰爭期間,本所先遷湖南長沙,繼遷雲南昆明,最後定居於四川南溪縣李莊之板栗坳。1946年遷回南京,繼續推動各項研究工作,並接收北平東方文化研究所及近代科學圖書館圖書,成立「北平圖書史料整理處」。1948年冬,時局突變,本所在傅斯年所長主持下,將人員、圖書、標本、文物等由南京遷臺,設臨時所址於桃園縣楊梅鎮。1954年春,隨本院定居南港現址。隨著時局穩定與臺灣經濟成長,本所規模得以日漸擴充。1954年,有研究大樓及倉庫各一幢;1957年,興建考古館,1968年開始分期增建考古館後幢;1960年建傅斯年圖書館,1978年擴建第二棟書庫,1989年又增建第三棟。1986年,歷史文物陳列館正式啟用。1994年,研究大樓竣工。本所建築乃呈現今日規模。

定居南港後,本所建制亦有所調整。1958年增設甲骨文研究室,1990年易名為文字學組。另有三館,分別收藏本所重要圖書和文物,即傅斯年圖書館、歷史文物陳列館以及臺灣考古館。1995年起,為推動群體研究,設置專題研究室,以匯聚所內、外研究人力和資源,目前計有文化思想史、法律史、臺灣與東南亞考古學、文物圖象、生命醫療史、禮俗宗教、世界史、古代文明、數位人文學等九個研究室。另外,先後設有明清檔案、漢籍資料庫、地理資訊系統、金文、安陽五個工作室;以及科技考古、文物維護二個實驗室。1997年,語言學組成立語言學研究所籌備處,本所名稱維持不變,分為歷史學、考古學、人類學和文字學四組。2003年配合院方廢組政策,改「組」為「學門」,學門設召集人,負責相關同仁的人事、行政、學術方面的領導工作。此外,為統籌本所歷年蒐藏之檔案文書,結合數位資源並加強館際交流,於2014年奉准設立檔案館。(請參看「組織架構圖」)

人文學科的研究必須個人與集體並重,一方面尊重個人的研究領域,另方面在水到渠成之時,鼓勵合作研究,故本所未來仍將秉持這個原則,一方面尊重個人研究,鼓勵同仁成為個別領域的領導學者;二方面以專題研究室為基礎,突出幾個跨學門的、全所性的研究重心。期待同仁擴大格局與眼光,以亞洲及世界的視野來思考我們所從事的種種研究,並力圖與世界各國歷史文化進行比較。同時,積極整理出版所藏學術材料,擴充數位環境,期以建構世界漢學研究的平台。

back top