The Script function provides the latest information on the bulletin board in the middle block browsing, if your browser does not support this feature, nor does it affect you read this website information.
::: * Departments
*  Printer Friendly (New Window)    Font Size  Font Size Small Font button Font button in the font Font Size Large Font button   
* Anthropology Department

Chairperson: Sheng-chih Lin

The sections of anthropology and ethnographic materials were created at the founding of the Institute of History and Philology in 1928, and conducted physical anthropological surveys in Guangzhou and Yunnan provinces.  The next year, they were incorporated into the Archaeology Department.  In 1933, the Institute of Social Sciences at Academia Sinica was incorporated into the IHP, only to leave after one year in order to join the Peking Institute of Social Investigation.  The Institute of Social Sciences’ Department of Ethnology however, remained with the IHP, as the Department of Anthropology with Wu Ting Liang as its chair.  Wu later established the Institute of Physical Anthropology, and the chairmanship of the Department of Anthropology passed to Ling Chun-sheng.  In 1955, the Institute of Ethnology, Academia Sinica was founded and appointed Ling Chun-Sheng as its director, but the IHP’s Department of Anthropology continued to operate. 

The former Department of Ethnology of the Institute of Social Sciences had focused its research on the primitive cultures of ethnic minorities in the northeast and southwest regions of China.  After becoming the Department of Anthropology, however, it began to value cultural and physical anthropology equally.  Owing to the Japanese occupation of northeastern China at the time, however, it had to focus solely on ethnographic surveys of the ethnic minorities in the Southwest.  After Academia Sinica established the Institute of Ethnology, the Department of Anthropology continued its work on physical anthropology, but confined its work in the sub-field of cultural anthropology to ethnohistory.

After 1980, the Anthropology Department began to pursue new research topics and methodological directions.  The focus of the research shifted to the effort to use the study of contemporary ethnographic artifacts and data collected during fieldwork with historical materials as to pursue social history, ethnohistory, the history of religion, history of medicine, and the study of folkways.  Subsequently, most research was related to medical and therapeutic culture, folkways, religion, ethnohistory, and cross-cultural comparison.  The Department employed the methodologies of history and anthropology, and other social science theories, to attend to topics seldom explored by historians, working with a large amount of data from fieldwork (texts, photographs, and videos) in addition to traditional texts and artifacts and field notes from archeological excavations. 

Over the past few decades, the work of the Department has attended to the history of “the neglected middle,” a field which overcomes the dichotomy of official and non-official to include the basis for the shared social practice of members of different classes.  Another burgeoning area of interest is the creation of orthodoxy, such as in the establishment of classical medicine and gynecology.  Department researchers have also enjoyed much success in exploring the question of the relationship between the “center” and the “periphery,” whether it be the Han vis-à-vis the cultures of border regions, or empire and colonies.

Dialogues among research fellows in the Department are frequent and fruitful, facilitated by the collaborative research environment created by various research centers such as the History of Health and Healing Research Center; Custom, Religion and Daily Life Research Center; and World History Research Center in IHP.  In addition to pursuing personal historical interests, researchers also periodically reflect on and write about developments in related fields.  Research promoted over the last decade in the areas of history of healing, religious beliefs, and ethnic groups has been a catalyst for new research in Taiwan, and moreover played a leading role in the international Sinological community.  The achievements of the Department’s research on the history of healing are recently being published in the series The History of Health and Healing.  Furthermore, newly hired scholars have brought with them interests in other fields such as ancient civilization, the history of gender and sexuality, historical space, tomb art, European medical history, and the history of science among others.

back top

本Script功能提供網頁圖片載入,若您的瀏覽器不支援此項功能,也不影響你閱讀本網站資訊。
::: * 學門簡介
友善列印圖飾  友善列印(另開新視窗)    字級設定  字級設定小字型按鈕 字級設定中字型按鈕 字級設定大字型按鈕   
* 人類學門

學門召集人:戴麗娟

本所初創即設有人類學及民物學組,並在廣州、雲南開展體質人類學調查。第二年併入考古學組。1933年本院社會科學研究所併入本所,一年後該單位轉而與北平社會調查所合作,但其中的民族學組仍留在本所,並改稱人類學組,聘吳定良為主任。後來吳定良籌組體質人類學研究所,1946年改聘凌純聲為主任。1955年本院民族學研究所成立,凌先生出任所長,但本所人類學組仍然維持不變。

原社會科學研究所民族學組之研究對象,係以中國東北及西南地區少數民族之原始文化為主。及至人類學組成立,文化人類學與體質人類學並重。但因日本佔領東北,乃專重西南民族調查。本院成立民族學研究所之後,本學門之研究範圍維持體質人類學,至於文化人類學則轉以民族史為主。

1980年以後,本學門在研究方法及研究範疇上有新的發展,其研究重點為利用歷史材料以及田野工作所蒐集的當代民間材料,從事社會史、民族史、宗教史、醫療史、以及生活禮俗史之研究,而總歸於社會和文化。之後的研究主軸以醫療文化、生活禮俗、宗教信仰、族群歷史與跨文化比較為主,除了傳統文獻與考古發掘資料之外,亦大量運用文字、圖片與影像之田野調查資料,結合歷史學與人類學的研究方法,輔以其他社會科學理論,探討過去史學界較少注意的課題。自上個世紀末起,本學門的研究則注意到歷史上「被忽略的中層」;這個「中層」歷史打破官、民的二分,包括了不同階層人共同實踐的基礎。其次,對於正統的建立展現興趣,如古典醫學、婦科醫學的確立等。此外,同仁對於「中心」與「邊陲」的關係亦多所著墨,不論是探討「漢與邊疆文化」或是研究「帝國中心與殖民地」,都有很好的成績。

由於有「生命醫療史研究室」、「禮俗宗教研究室」、「世界史研究室」等研究群體作為互動的機制,同仁之間探討課題的內在對話明顯,除了研究個別歷史問題外,亦不時針對相關領域的發展回顧省思。過去十餘年推動的醫療史研究、宗教研究、族群歷史研究,不僅在臺灣史學界引領風潮,所得研究成果在國際漢學界也居於領先地位。醫療文化研究的成果已編輯為「生命醫療史系列叢書」出版。再者,因應新進人員的研究方向,增加了古代文明、性別史、歷史空間、墓葬圖像、歐洲醫學史與科學史等研究課題。

back top