::: * Journal for Legal History Studies
*  Printer Friendly    Font Size  Font Size Small Font button Font button in the font Font Size Large Font button   

第23期 Issue: 23 period
Date: 2013/08

Articles Kao, Ming-Shih Fairness –the Ideal of East Asian Traditional Legal System
Zheng, Xian-wen From Fa Jing in the Qin Period to the Nine Chapter Law composed by Xiao He in Han Dynasty and Pong Chapter Law-A New Analysis of the development of Qin-Han legal system
Huang, Yuan-Sheng Between Li and Xing: From Maintenance Lack to Abandonment of Lineal Ascendant
Chen, Den-Wu Confucianism Thought of Bai Jü Yi’s Bai-Dao Legal Precedent
Chen, Hwei-Syin Confucianism and the legal system in Qing dynasty – the legal history point of views
Min, Dong-Fang An Analysis of the Increase and Decrease in the Death Penalty Articles and the Death Penalties in Qing Code
Articles & Replies Review Chang, Ming The Property Crime Cases of Qin and Han Dynasty Collected in Zou Yan Shu
Bu, Qing-Rong Research on「Permission for Leave」In Yuan Dynasty From Legal Perspective
People & Book Review Deng, Jian-peng, Liu, Xiong-tao The Difficult Position of Assumption, Standpoint and Function Approach: Rethinking Qu Tongzhu’s Research

 


Fairness –the Ideal of East Asian Traditional Legal System

Kao, Ming-Shih

Abstract

“Fairness-leading- to- Peace” could be said to be the highest ideal of Chinese traditional legal system. There is an old Chinese saying to confirm this: “peace and harmony achieved under the Heaven is the highest achievement of the human beings”. As far as the legal system was concerned, how could we reach this ideal of fairness? The Summaries of the Four Treasures mentioned: “It is said that since the constitution of Tang legal code was based on “rituals”, when the judgments were delivered, the justice and fairness was served.” This is in fact a very profound analysis. It implies that “legal codes”, “rituals” and “fairness” were core content of The Tang Legal Codes and Their Accompanying Regulations” . And “fairness” was the object of both the “legal codes” and “Rituals” were intended to achieve.

This objective was to establish a harmonious society based on a hierarchy of status and was also a characteristic feature of Chinese Legal System (also known as East Asian Sphere of Law Culture). This was very different from those of Western societies which has been based on the individual equal rights. However, there is one common ground shared by both the East and West. That is: fairness and justice were, to some extent, taken very seriously both by traditional East Asian and modern West.

Keywords: Peace, justice, rituals, legal codes, Chinese Legal Systems, a hierarchy of status

top

From Fa Jing in the Qin Period to the Nine Chapter Law composed by Xiao He in Han Dynasty and Pong Chapter Law-A New Analysis of the development of Qin-Han legal system

Zheng, Xian-wen

Abstract

The legal system in Ancient China experienced the development of legal form from Fa Jing, Lv and Ling in Warring States and Qin period to Lv and Ling in Han period. The discoveries of Qin Bamboo Slips Unearthed at Yun-meng, Bamboo Slips Buried in the Han Dynasty Tomb in Zhangjia Shan—The Second Year Law as well as those documents handed down for generations: We Shu Preface, Wei Shu Treatise on penal law, Tang Law and etc. explicitly record the affairs described in Fa Jing composed by Li Kui in Warring States, which indubitably indicates that it was Li Kui who came from Wei state that laid out Fa Jing Six Chapters. Moreover, Shang Yang who used to be subjected to Wei state also contributed to the introduction of Li Kui’s Fa Jing Six Chapters. Although there were records about Shang Yang “change Fa into Lv” in ancient documents it was still a usual practice that people called Fa Jing six chapters as Qin Law or Qin Fa Jing. Lv, Fa and Ling these three Qin Dynasty dictions appear repeatedly in Qin Bamboo Slips Unearthed at Yun-meng. Based on this discovery, I believe that the “Fa” mentioned above is exactly the Qin Fa Jing six chapters and these three dictions are the core of Qin Dynasty’s legal system. Recent years, some domestic and overseas scholars hold the view that Western Han Dynasty Xiao He did not compose Nine Chapter Law, while according to my combing of Chinese historical textual documents such as Han Shu, Shi Ji and other related materials, I take for granted that from the first year of Han era(206 B.C.) Liu Bang entered the central Shaanxi plain to 202 B.C. he eventually unified China, there were three activities about modifying legislation in big scales: firstly, at the first year of Han era, Han Gao Zu Liu Bang primarily promulgated a “Three-point Law”; the second time was from the second year of Han era (205 B.C.) to the year Han Gao Zu unifying China, the prime minister of Han---Xiao He drafted Nine Chapter Law, based on the recomposing of Qin Fa Jing six chapters and three Qin Lv: Xing, Jiu and Hu, which created and established a new legal system style that was composed of Fa and Lv; the third time happened after Han Gao Zu unified China, he ordered Xiao He to revise legislation and Han Xin to declare military law. The revision of legislation settled the foundation of “Pong Chapter eighteen Chapters” and it is opposite with the record of Jin Shu Xing Fa Zhi which declares it was Shu Suntong that composed “Pong Chapter eighteen Chapters”.

KeywordsQin Fa Jing, Qin Bamboo Slips Unearthed at Yun-meng, Fa Lv Ling, the Second Year Law, Nine Chapter Law

top

Between Li and Xing: From Maintenance Lack to Abandonment of Lineal Ascendant

Huang, Yuan-Sheng

Abstract

Filial piety, which has long been held in high esteem in traditional Chinese society, is considered to be the origin of all virtues. It is also thought to be the base of Ren (仁) by Confucian Analects, and held as a ruling principle through dynasties. Alongside the political power, filial piety is promoted and practiced overwhelmingly in every way: family honor, tax break, title confering, punishment exemption, etc., which is recorded in Zhi Guan Zhi (職官志, Officialdom Essays), Xuan Ju Zhi (選舉志, Examination Essays), Xiao Yo Zhuan and Xiao Yi Zhuan (孝友傳及孝義傳, Filial subjects Biographies) since Han.

Li (禮, morals or ritual propriety) has become the base of penalty system and legislative principles since Sui and Tang. Male lineal ascendants are endowed with the rights of ruling and educating descendants (教令權). According to the law, as long as the instructions are disobeyed or the maintenance is insufficient, penal punishment is applied to the descendants. The code not only combined Li and penalty, but also promotes the practice of filial piety. However, as time gone by, is filial piety still an eternal idea or an absolute obligation? How do we comprehend this ethic idea essentially and make it correspond with the penal legislation more appropriately?

Basing on Tang Code, Ching Code and the historical material of late Ching legal reform, this paper shall discuss the traditional ideas and offenses aforementioned. Moreover, the author would take the legislations of Germany and Japan as study examples in the view of comparative law. In the end, this article would like to study the transform and rebirth of current legal ethics in the 2010 Amendment of Article 294-1, Criminal Code of Taiwan.

KeywordsConfucianism, Traditional Chinese Legal System, Filial Piety, Maintenance Lack, Abandonment of Lineal Ascendant

top

Confucianism Thought of Bai Jü Yi’s Bai-Dao Legal Precedent

Chen, Den-Wu

Abstract

The so-called “Pan” was one of the examination subjects in T’ang Dynasty. The questions of the “Pan” were usually formulated from the lawsuits or historical affairs in the historical literatures.

Written by Bai Jü Yi, “Bai-Dao” legal precedent was an exercise in composition after he passed the preliminary but before he attended the final examinations held by the Judiciary. This legal precedent Let us have the opportunity to understand the verdicts of the Tang Dynasty.

This paper discuss the lawsuit cases about “Mourning”、“Marriage”、“Hereditary peerage”、“Court etiquette”、“Officer”、 “Revenge” that involved the order of Confucianism.Through analysis the lawsuit cases,we can understandthe order under the Confucianism of Bai Jü Yi.

Overall, In the event that the lawsuit cases were originated from the scripture of the Confucianism, Bai Jü Yi’s attitude was apparently in accordance with the instructions given by the Confucianism.Even though there have been instances with propriety into Law, Bai is still only on the ceremony, showing that he is more concerned about the meaning of propriety, rather than de jure illegal demonstration.

Keywords: The history of a legal system, Bai Jü Yi, Bai-Dao legal precedent, the order under the Confucianism, Confucianism

top

Confucianism and the legal system in Qing dynasty – the legal history point of views

Chen, Hwei-Syin

Abstract

This paper discusses the theorie of the Confucianism about three bonds relationship. (monarch and his subjects, father and son, husband and wife) and the legagl system in the Qing Dynasty. The first part of the paper analyzes the subjects of the Examination in the Qing, the four books: 孟子mencius論語The analects of Confucius大學university中庸moderation and their discussion about the three bonds relationship. The second part of the paper explore the "ten evils system "in the great Qing legal code and the execution of the ten evils system. The third part analysis the education system、the examination system and the honours system in the code for Ministry of Rites in Qing Dynasty. The fourth part of the paper analyzes the legal reform in the late Qing dynasty and the change and the dilemma during the time and how the important official express their opinion about the legal reform. Finally, the paper explore the Significance and Inspiration of the Confucianism for the contemporary Taiwan society.

Keywords:Confucianism, Three Commands and Five ethik, The Ten Abominations,code for Ministry of Rites , great Qing legal code

top

An Analysis of the Increase and Decrease in the Death Penalty Articles and the Death Penalties in Qing Code

Min, Dong-Fang

Abstract

The number of death penalty articles specified by Shun Zhi Lv was 135 and the number of various death penalties totaled 223. The number of death penalty articles specified by Yong Zheng Lv increased to 158 and the number of various death penalties increased to 407 accordingly. By the fifth year of the Reign of Qian Long, the number of death penalty articles specified by the Da-Qing-Lv-Li decreased to 152 while the number of various death penalties rose to the level of 444. During the ninth year of the Reign of Tong Zhi, the number of death penalty articles specified by the Da-Qing-Lv-Li peaked at 162 and the number of various death penalties increased to 772 as a result. The death penalty of Qing Code focused primarily on homicide and property cases. The rise and fall in the number of death penalty articles in Qing dynasty were quite complicated and the increase in the number of death penalties did not necessarily mean the increase in the number of death penalty imposed by the authorities. It suggests that any study on the historical background of the death penalty imposed by the authorities should be carried with great caution and hasty conclusions should never be encouraged.

Keywords: Qing Code, death penalty articles, number of death penalties

top

The Property Crime Cases of Qin and Han Dynasty Collected in Zou Yan Shu

Chang, Ming

Abstract

Among the 22 cases collected in the judicial case anthology: Zou Yan Shu, unearthed from the Han tomb at Zhang Jia Shan, 20 of them are qualified as formal judgments. These rare historical materials related to abscondence, adultery, homicide, malfeasance, and property crimes compiled to be the judical models for the judges of early Han could be the actual trail records of Qin and Han.

The property crime cases of Zou Yan Shu provide abundant judicial information of Qin and Han which could be compared with the legal provisions contained in Shui Hu Di, Long Gang and Zhang Jia Shan bamboo slips. Basing on the legal and judicial materials aforementioned, through legal and historical research methods, this article shall identify the character of Zou Yan Shu, and clarify its position in the legal source system of Han.

KeywordsQin, Han, bamboo slips, Zhang Jia Shan, Shui Hu Di, Long Gang, Zou Yan Shu, property crime, judicial history

top

Research on「Permission for Leave」In Yuan Dynasty From Legal Perspective

Bu, Qing-Rong

Abstract


Yuan Dynasty was the regime established by the Mongolian. The regime has begun applying the institution of「Permission for Leave」from Tang and Song Dynasties before Kublai Khan established「Da Yuan」. And after occupied Beijing, It created some new provisions of「Permission for Leave」. The legal culture of the Han nationality was absorbed selectively and The traditional confucianism was weakened In Yuan Dynasty. The institution of「Permission for Leave」in Yuan Dynasty also learned from the culture of the Mongolian and had powerful influence to the administrative legal system of Ming-Qing Dynasty and ancient Koryo Dynasty.

Keywords:Permission for Leave, One day vacation every seven days, The birthday of Yuan Dynasty

top

The Difficult Position of Assumption, Standpoint and Function Approach: Rethinking Qu Tongzhu’s Research

Deng, Jian-peng, Liu, Xiong-tao

Abstract

In the preface of his Law and Society in Traditional China of the first edition, Qu Tongzhu analyzed traditional law and society based on his assumption that the social structure maintained almost the same since Han to Qing dynasty. Although such declaration no longer existed in the new edition after 1981, the classic book still enjoyed the assumption. The assumption missed some obvious and important changes during Chinese history. Led by the structure functionalism, Qu Tongzhu also did not pay attention to motivation and aim of law in this book. As a result, the method aboove affected his four books’ some contents and conclustions incorrectly.

Keywords:  Qu Tongzhu, Law and Society in Traditional China, Assumption, Diversity

top

中國法制史學會、中央研究院歷史語言研究所主編

back top

::: * 法制史研究
*  友善列印(另開新視窗)    字級設定  字級設定小字型按鈕 字級設定中字型按鈕 字級設定大字型按鈕   

第23期 期別: 第23期
出版日期: 2013/08

論  著 高明士 東亞傳統法文化的理想境界──「平」
鄭顯文 從秦《法經》到漢蕭何作《九章律》和傍章律──秦漢律典體系演進新論
黃源盛 禮刑之間──從供養有闕到遺棄尊親屬
陳登武 白居易〈百道判〉中的禮教思想
陳惠馨 儒家思想與清朝法制──法制史考察觀點
閔冬芳 清律中的死罪律目及各類死罪數量消長述析
研究討論 張 銘 《奏讞書》中的秦漢財產犯罪案件
布慶榮 法律視野下的元代假寧制度研究
人與書 鄧建鵬 劉雄濤 假設、立場與功能進路的困境──對瞿同祖研究方式的再思考

 


東亞傳統法文化的理想境界──「平」

高明士

摘要

和「平」可說是法制(尤其是律)的最高境界,所以有「天下平」之說。就法制而言,「平」的境界如何可得?《四庫提要》說:「論者謂唐律一準乎禮,以為出入得古今之平。」實是最簡短而具體的說明。其提示律、禮、平三者是《唐律疏議》的基本內涵,而「平」就是禮、律所要達成的目標。這個目標,是建立在群體身分等差秩序下的和諧社會,也是中華法系(或曰東亞法文化圈)的特質之一,而不是西方所強調重視個人權利的人人平等社會。但東西方有一共通的地方,就是在傳統法文化之下,都重視某種程度的公平、正義。

 關鍵字:和平、正義、禮律、中華法系、身分等差秩序

top

從秦《法經》到漢蕭何作《九章律》和傍章律──秦漢律典體系演進新論

鄭顯文

摘要

中國古代的法律體系經歷了從戰國時期秦國的法、律、令體系向漢代的律、令制體系的演進過程。雲夢秦簡、張家山漢簡《二年律令》的發現,以及傳世文獻《魏律‧序略》、《魏書‧刑罰志》、《唐律疏議》等對戰國時期李悝制定《法經》之事皆有明確的記述,說明魏國李悝制定《法經》六篇毋庸置疑。商鞅從魏入秦,也把魏國李悝制定的《法經》帶到了秦國。儘管古代文獻中有過商鞅「改法為律」的記述,但在秦代仍習慣稱《法經》六篇為「秦《法經》」或「秦法」。雲夢秦簡《語書》中多次提到了秦代的法、律、令三字,筆者認為其中的「法」就是指「秦《法經》」六篇,秦代的法律體系是以法、律、令為核心的法律體系。近年來,國內外許多學者認為西漢蕭何並未作《九章律》,筆者通過對《史記》、《漢書》等文獻資料進行梳理,認為從漢元年(前206)劉邦進入關中到西元前202年漢高祖統一全國後,總共進行過三次大規模的立法活動:第一次是在漢元年劉邦初入關中時頒佈的「約法三章」;第二次是從漢二年(前205)到漢高祖統一全國之前,由丞相蕭何制定了《九章律》,《九章律》是蕭何根據「秦《法經》」六篇和秦代的興、廄、戶三篇秦律改編而成,《九章律》開啟了中國古代法、律結合的新體例;第三次是在漢高祖統一全國之後,命「蕭何次律令,韓信申軍法」,蕭何此次「次律令」的成果是制定了「傍章十八篇」,《晉書‧刑法志》記述由叔孫通制定的「傍章十八篇」與史實不符。

關鍵字:秦《法經》、雲夢秦簡、法律令、二年律令、《九章律》

top

禮刑之間──從供養有闕到遺棄尊親屬

黃源盛

摘要

傳統中國社會,向來重視孝道,認為孝是萬善之源,強調孝為百行之首;在《論語》裡,孝又是行仁之本,歷代也競相標榜「以孝治天下」;而孝道的推行又輔以政治力的介入,除表彰並倡導、講習外,對於孝道的實踐無不積極策進;最常見者為誘以名利,凡有孝行者,或旌其門閭、或減免其稅賦、或授予官爵、甚或有罪亦寬貸其刑等,諸如此類,其實例在漢以後歷朝的職官志、選舉志、孝友傳及孝義傳中比比可見。

隋唐以降,在「禮本刑用」的立法原則下,以禮尋律。父祖擁有所謂的「教令權」,倘若子孫有違犯父祖的教訓命令行為,或對祖父母、父母,力堪扶養而不扶養者,歷來法律都用刑罰加以懲治,此即指「子孫違犯教令及供養有闕」罪條而言。這種「以孝率法」的禮刑結合方式,固足以促進吏民對於孝的力行,問題是,在時光流轉下,這是永恆不變的「道理」嗎?孝之名實究竟該如何看待?行孝是否為一種片面絕對的義務?有關刑事立法中倫理成分的比例該如何拿捏?凡此,都是饒富爭議而有待釐清的課題。

本文擬從縱向的古今源流之變,以唐清律及晚清的變法修律為重心,談談有關該項罪名在傳統中國法制中「禮本刑用」立法方式的歷史意義;另從橫向的中外比較法史觀點,述說有關德、日等國立法例的動向,以明中外時代之異;最後,則以民國九十九年(2010)間《刑法》第294條之一「遺棄直系血親尊親屬罪」的最新修正,探討刑法中倫理情結的異化與再生,以究當前之勢。

關鍵字:儒家思想、中華法系、孝道、供養有闕、遺棄尊親屬

top

白居易〈百道判〉中的禮教思想

陳登武

摘要

所謂「判」,是唐人取士考試項目之一,取其「文理優長」。通常是以地方獄訟案件或經學、史籍所載的概念或史事,假設兩難情境之議題,使應試者以判詞論述,從而展現其對於維護禮教倫理和法律秩序的態度與看法。

白居易為考「書判拔萃科」而模擬「百道判」,讓我們有機會瞭解唐代判詞的世界。本文選擇其中「居喪」、「婚姻」、「蔭贖與襲爵」、「朝儀」、「居官」、「復仇」等涉及儒家禮教秩序的判題,分析白居易判詞世界中的禮教秩序,從而瞭解白居易的禮教思想。

整體而言,白居易模擬與儒家禮教秩序有關的判題和判詞,大致都反映他深受儒家思想影響。即使遇到已經以禮入律的事例,白居易依然僅論禮而不說法,可見他更在意的是禮教的意義,而不是法律上的違法論證。

關鍵字:法制史、白居易、百道判、禮教秩序、儒家思想

top

儒家思想與清朝法制──法制史考察觀點

陳惠馨

摘要

本論文主要探討儒家思想有關三綱(君臣、父子、夫婦)論述跟清朝法制的關係。論文第一部份主要分析清朝科舉考試重要科目四書中有關三綱關係的論述;論文第二部份則探討清朝《大清律例》中有關十惡制度的設計與執行;論文第三部份分析清朝《禮部則例》的規範如何透過教育制度、考試制度與旌表制度強化人民對於三綱價值體系的認同;論文第四部份則分析清朝末年法律規範體制的改變歷程與困境,最後則探討儒家思想與傳統中國法制對於臺灣當代法律體制的意義與啟示。

本論文企圖區隔儒家思想作為一種思想的本質以及清朝以儒家思想作為法規範基本價值的法制之間的差別。作者希望透過分析兩者的異同,探討當代華人社會是否可能將儒家思想跟當代法律制度進行融合。中國大陸、香港、臺灣、韓國、日本,新加坡、越南等,在傳統深受儒家思想影響的東亞各國,在過去一百年來,因為被殖民或經由自主選擇,拋棄原來深受儒家思想影響的法律制度,被迫繼受或主動學習歐陸、英美等國近兩百年來所發展出的法律體制。如果觀察上述深受儒家思想影響的社會,可以發現,在經過一百年學習外國法律制度之後,社會中某些重要法律制度與法律觀念跟西方歐陸與英美法制依舊有明顯不同的選擇。此種現象顯示華人社會在某些特定議題上依舊受到儒家思想的影響。作者認為華人社會在學習歐陸或英美法律制度一百年之後,有必要重新回顧傳統儒家思想的本質,並透過對於儒家思想的重新詮釋,使其精神得以與當代法律體系進行融合。而為了達到這個目標,有必要對於儒家思想核心的三綱論述進行新詮釋並給予新意義。

關鍵字:儒家思想、三綱五倫、十惡、禮部則例、大清律例

top

清律中的死罪律目及各類死罪數量消長述析

閔冬芳

摘要

順治律中的死罪律目為135個,各類死罪總數為223個。雍正律中的死罪律目增至158個,各類死罪總數則增至407個。乾隆五年《大清律例》中的死罪律目減少至152個,而各類死罪總數則增至444個。同治九年《大清律例》中的死罪律目增至162個,而各類死罪總數則更增至772個。清代的死罪律目主要適用於命盜案件。清代死罪消長的情形較為複雜,死罪數量的增加也並非必定意味著死刑投放的增加,而我們對清代死刑投放歷史背景的分析應持謹慎態度而不應輕易得出某一結論。

關鍵字:清律、死罪律目、死罪數量

top

《奏讞書》中的秦漢財產犯罪案件

張銘

摘要

張家山漢簡《奏讞書》共計收錄了二十二則司法案例,當中有二十則案例具備正式判決文書的條件,很可能是當時司法審判的真實記錄。案件內容涉及逃亡、通姦、殺人、瀆職及財產犯罪。這些經過整編的案例對於漢初的執法官吏當有一定的模範意義,是研究秦漢法制不容忽略的重要素材。

《奏讞書》「財產犯罪案件」時間橫跨秦漢,材料本身的質與量頗為可觀,同時可與睡虎地秦簡、龍岡秦簡、《二年律令》中的盜罪條文交互並參,是結合秦漢靜態規範與動態審判的完整司法圖像。本文取材範圍包括秦漢簡牘中的盜罪規範,以及《奏讞書》中的四則財產犯罪案件。兼用法學與史學的研究方法,釐清《奏讞書》的法源性質,並追探其財產犯罪案件所呈現的程序與實質特色。

關鍵字:秦漢、簡牘、張家山、睡虎地、龍岡、奏讞書、盜罪、裁判史

top

法律視野下的元代假寧制度研究

布慶榮

摘要


元 代是我國北方少數民族蒙古族建立的政權。早在忽必烈建元前,蒙古政權已開始實施唐宋時期的假寧制度,及至元朝佔領中原地區後,對唐宋以來的假寧制度又進行 了改革和創新。元代假寧制度的發展變化,反映了元朝統治者對中原漢民族的法律文化是有選擇地繼承和吸收,儒家傳統的綱常禮教對元代國家立法層面的影響日趨 弱化。元代假寧制度也融入了蒙古族遊牧文化,並對後世及古代周邊國家和地區朝鮮半島高麗王朝後期的法律制度產生重要影響。
關鍵字:假寧制度、周假、元命日

top

假設、立場與功能進路的困境──對瞿同祖研究方式的再思考

鄧建鵬 劉雄濤

摘要

瞿同祖在舊版《中國法律與中國社會》「導論」中提出,其研究從假設中國由漢至清兩千餘年社會結構沒有重大變化的前提出發,分析傳統法制與社會。舊版假設雖不再出現於1981年以後的新版《中國法律與中國社會》,但並不能掩蓋這部經典作品依然包含此假設。該假設事實上忽略中國歷史及深嵌其中的法制在不同時期的重大變化。這種研究上的欠缺與瞿同祖的社會學立場密切相關。同時,受社會學結構功能主義研究導向影響,《中國法律與中國社會》還忽視了立法動機與目的的探討。以上思路負面影響了這部經典作品以及瞿同祖其他三部作品的某些內容與結論構成。

關鍵字:瞿同祖、《中國法律與中國社會》、假設、多樣性

top

中國法制史學會、中央研究院歷史語言研究所主編

back top