::: * Journal for Legal History Studies
*  Printer Friendly    Font Size  Font Size Small Font button Font button in the font Font Size Large Font button   

第29期 Issue: 29 period
Date: 2016/06

Articles Zhang Renshan On the Function of Disputes Resolution by Clan During Qing Dynasty
Chen Yu On Link-up of The Great Qing Code and The Codes (zeli) of the Ministries in the Qing Dynasty
Chen Chong-Fang The Promulgation of The Great Qing Code in 1743
LI Ming Life is dear, the tael is dearer: A Study on Displacing the Murderer in Homicide Cases in the Qing Dynasty
Huang Yuan Sheng Human Nature, Ethical Reasoning and Legal Principle: The Past and Present of the Immunity of Mutual Concealment among Relatives
Articles & Replies Review Chen, Hui-Fen Knowledge Transition and State Innovation: Zhang Junmai’s Study on the Transformation of Representative System in Europe, 1919-1921
Zhao, Jing Review on the text-research on the Xingfa Zhi
Prominent Legal Figure LIU Meng A Legal Scholar: Wang Shih-chieh’s Academic Thought
Book Reviews Du, Jin The Principles and the Structure of Qing’s Legal Order: A Comment on Rights and Injustice: Collected Works on the Chinese Legal History of Terada Hiroaki

 


On the Function of Disputes Resolution by Clan During Qing Dynasty

Zhang Renshan

Abstract

Mediation of disputes among clan members by family rules or clan diciplines is one of the most important functions of a traditional clan. Preventive propgation against litigation and promotion of tolerance and forbearance to eliminate dispute was an ideal model of governance for the vast majority of people. After a dispute took place, mediation is considered a preferred resolution. Because it can maintain unity within the clan and social order. Clan rules do not belong to national legal systems, but overall they were closely related to and complementary with state laws working together to maintain social order at the grassroots level. Family and clan were where people were taught to comply with the rules, and a clan can play key role to resolve disputes, thus reducing the judicial burden for the state while lowering the cost of justice for people.

Keywords: QingDynasty,Clan,ResolvationofDisputes

top

On Link-up of The Great Qing Code and The Codes (zeli) of the Ministries in the Qing Dynasty

Chen Yu

Abstract

The Great Qing Code and The Codes (zeli) of the Ministries were complimentary and constituted the core of the law of the Qing Dynasty, they were the most important tools for the ruler to rule the Empire. Becuase the activities of various departments had a cross relationship, the rules had a common source and The Great Qing Code Lee mainly existed as a criminal code, The Great Qing Code and The Codes (zeli) of the Ministries thus were linked.By absorbing the essence of the Codes (zeli) of the Ministries, Refering to them, and as the standard of them, The Great Qing Code and the Codes (zeli) of the Ministries were closely connected. Broadly speaking, in the early period of the Qing Dynasty, they connected to a relatively high degree, thus promoted the unification of the legal system, Simplified the length of the code and strengthened the generality of the code, at last constructed a strict legal system. But in the late Qing Dynasty, The Great Qing Code and the Codes (zeli) of the Ministries were not colse enough, thus caused the contradiction between the two types of law and brought great difficulties to the application of law. So at the time of legal reform in the late Qing dynasty, people of vision reemphasized the unification of the two tpyes of law. Of course, this legal tradition may also make the transformation of the legal system of The Great Qing Code and the Codes (zeli) of the Ministries to the modern department law system less difficult.

Keywords: TheGreatQingCode,theCodes(zeli)oftheMinistries,Link- up,standard

 

top

The Promulgation of The Great Qing Code in 1743

Chen Chong-Fang

Abstract

Through the existing archives of The Great Qing Code, we could clarify that The Great Qing Code’s details and process of compilation, writing-out, print, and publication during the period of 1736 to 1743. By doing so, we could correct some misconceptions of The Great Qing Code.

The preconceived idea of The Great Qing Code is to be issued all over the country at 1741. However, the actual compiling process of The Great Qing Code should be at 1741. And the accomplishment of writing- out of The Great Qing Code should be at 1742. At 1743, the printing process of The Great Qing Code was fulfilled. Througu the transmission of The Great Qing Code from stratum to stratum, The Great Qing Code was popular throughout the country in a year.

After clarifing this topic, we could propose the possible answer about the dispute of the YongZhengLu (雍正律), and point out the actual issuing time of official printed books might not be compatible with the record in the official records.

Keywords: The Great Qing Code, promulgation of code in Qing Dynasty, Qing legal system, legal history in Qing Dynasty

top

Life is dear, the tael is dearer:
A Study on Displacing the Murderer in Homicide Cases in the Qing Dynasty

LI Ming

Abstract

Displacing the Murderer in homicide cases was a difficult point in trials during the Qing Dynasty. Displacing the Murderer (Dingxong) refers to a system by which the person who commits the crime does not receive punishment; someone else serves as a substitute and receives the punishment. These types of cases increased gradually from the Qianlong period. Instances of Dingxong were particularly common in armed brawls between two large groups of people, often families and lineage groups in Fujian and Guangdong provinces. The stipulations in the Qing Code were set separately for the different details in these cases. The regulations were also revised constantly based on feedback from legal practice. In general, the result of these modifications for the offence tended to increase leniency. This paper analyzes the social and judicial aspects of Displacing the Murderer cases to reveal the operations for the Qing judicial system at the local level.

Keywords: DisplacingtheMurderer(Dingxong),Brawl,Whiteduck slaughter, Governance of Officials in the Qing Dynasty

top

Human Nature, Ethical Reasoning and Legal Principle: The Past and Present of the Immunity of Mutual Concealment among Relatives

Huang Yuan Sheng

Abstract

According to the principle of legal equality, the law shall not only be free from differential treatments, but also actively encourage people to report or testify criminal offences. However, contradictorily, it seemed to be against the Human Nature to ask people turning in the criminals who are related to them. Seeking a proper solution to these interest conflicts has always been an appealing and worth pondering issue. From Han to the late Qing, the legal immunity of mutual concealment among relatives was hardly touched throughout dynasties, and kept remaining in the subsequent criminal laws of the Republic. Similarly, most of the countries in the modern world have also established comparable legislative policies as well. There shall be a pervasive interpretation to these legal phenomena. This article shall trace the origins and foundations of such legal immunity in the Chinese legal history, figuring out how did it survived for more than two thousand years and remain effective in Taiwan today; and why did PRC once abandon it after 1949 but reopen the discussion nowadays? Additionally, in the perspective of comparative law, what are the social meanings and merits of such immunity in Western and Chinese legal culture? How do we explain the related amendments and ethical transitions across Taiwan Straight in recent years? To answer all these questions, I shall reconstruct several historical facts to restore the evolving process of the norms. Furthermore, I shall also interpret the theoretical basis, historiographical meaning and epoch significance underneath those historical facts.

Keywords: immunity of mutual concealment among relatives, right to refuse testimony, criminal code of the late Qing, criminal code of ROC, Qing Li Fa

 

top

Knowledge Transition and State Innovation:

Zhang Junmai’s Study on the Transformation of Representative System in Europe, 1919-1921

Chen, Hui-Fen

Abstract

After World War I, the wave of national innovation emerged in Europe. Not only newly-created countries drew constitution and laws, but also existing countries engaged to amend their constitution or laws. The common trend was the transformation of representative system. From the 19th to the 20th century, the West had been facing a knowledge transition. These new constitutions and the laws were considered as the achievements of the new theories established before the war, and attracted the attention of many Chinese intellectuals. Since the late Qing Dynasty, Zhang Junmai was a constitutionalist and he respected parliamentary system. This paper explores Zhang Junmai’s study on the transformation of representative system in Europe when he traveled to Europe from 1919 to 1921. His investigations were mainly in Britain, France, Germany, and Russia, and they represented different transformation models of representative system. He examined the elections and the operations of parliamentary politics in Britain and France, where the parliamentary politics have stood the test of war. As a result, Zhang Junmai more believed in the value of democracy. Germany eventually returned to the track of representative system after a brief Soviet revolution. The transformation of representative system in Germany was to implement the sovereignty of the people. Beside
parliament politics, Germany established the economic council, which is comprised of the representatives of capitalists and the coalition of labor union. Zhang Junmai applauded this liberalism and socialism reconcile. As for Russia, in order to carry out the socialist transformation, discarded the representatives and replaced it by the Soviets. Zhang Junmai disagreed with that. In short, Zhang Junmai’s discourse on the transformation of representative system in Europe was not only a part of spread and response of western legal knowledge before and after the 1920s among Chinese intellectuals, but also was an important stage in the construction of his own legal knowledge in his life. And then further became an important knowledge base for his Chinese national transformation program in the future.

Keywords: Zhang Junmai, representative system, Weimar Constitution, Soviet System, socialism

top

Review on the text-research on the Xingfa

Zhi Zhao, Jing

Abstract

Since the 20th century, researches on the Xingfa Zhi by scholars in home and abroad can be divided into three kinds that are the collation, the translation and annotation, and the analysation of the formation of texts, of which the achievements are plentiful. We should revalue the Xingfa Zhi and develop new topics with the consciousness of historical writing in the future. Keywords: XingfaZhi,Collation,Translationandannotation,Analysation of the formation of texts

top

A Legal Scholar: Wang Shih-chieh’s Academic Thought

LIU Meng

Abstract

Wang Shih-chieh was one of the most important legal scholars in modern China. He got the PH.D degree from the University of Paris and taught in the Peking University after returning home. He wrote a series of papers discussing the problem of transformation of modern representative system, including the development trend of women’s participation in politics, professional representative system and proportional representative system. He also paid attention to the development of the rule of law and guarantee of the individual freedom, criticized the legal system during Beiyang period. In addition, he applied the theory of the federal system to analyze China’s political situation. He expected to contribute to the development of China’s wisdom.

Keywords: WangShih-chieh,professionalrepresentativesystem,proportional representative system, federal system, consular jurisdiction

top

The Principles and the Structure of Qing’s Legal Order:

A Comment on Rights and Injustice: Collected Works on the Chinese Legal History of Terada Hiroaki

Du, Jin

Abstract

The book Rights and Injustice: Collected Works on the Chinese Legal History of Terada Hiroaki is a classic work in the study of the legal history of Qing China. By comparing oriental concept of law and the western one, Professor Terada Hiroaki presents the distinctiveness of the concept of law, the legal system and the legal order of Qing China, bringing up a new type which totally differs from the type of legal order of the modern western society. Besides, he, with an analysis framework of overall-consideration and consistence, gives a clearly-conceptual and well-logic explanation to Chinese law and legal practice in Qing dynasty, while he also bridges the gap between society and the nation and depicts a rather completed picture of the legal system and legal order of Qing. What’s more, He analyses and describes the forming principles of the legal order of Qing in a combined perspective of jurisprudence, sociology and political science, having a great eager for new theory. He not only focuses on macroscopic problems, but also has detailed discussion on microscopic problems like Qing’s land law and the concept of convention.

Keywords: Terada Hiroaki, Qing China, legal order, forming principles, structure

top

中國法制史學會、中央研究院歷史語言研究所主編

back top

::: * 法制史研究
*  友善列印(另開新視窗)    字級設定  字級設定小字型按鈕 字級設定中字型按鈕 字級設定大字型按鈕   

第29期 期別: 第29期
出版日期: 2016/06

論  著 張仁善 論清代宗族的糾紛化解功能
陳煜 論《大清律例》與各部院則例的銜接
陳重方 乾隆八年《大清律例》的頒行
李明 為愛鬼頭銀,命比鴻毛輕 ──清代命案中的賄買頂凶
黃源盛 人性、情理、法意 ──親親相隱的傳統與當代
研究討論 陳惠芬 知識移轉與國家創新 ──張君勱對歐洲代議制改造風潮的考察 (1919-1921)
趙晶 正史《刑法志》「文本」研究路徑舉要
法制人物 劉猛 作為法學家的王世杰 ──學術與思想
書  評 杜金 清代中國法秩序的原理與結構 ──《權利與冤抑:寺田浩明中國法史論集》述評

 


論清代宗族的糾紛化解功能

張仁善

摘要

依據家規族訓,化解宗族成員間糾紛,是傳統宗族的主要重要 功能之一。傳統中國宗族首先通過糾紛發生前的息訟宣教,希望族 人能夠保持克制、寬容及忍訟,消除訟爭,這既是歷代政府追求的 理想治理模式,也是絕大多數民眾期盼的生活狀態。糾紛發生後, 調解被視為化解糾紛的優先選擇,通過調解,可以保持宗族內部的 團結,維繫熟人社會秩序。對於族人的不良行為,宗族依照族規, 在公共祠堂進行處罰,可以有效預防違法犯罪,維護社會治安。對 於不服家規處罰的族人,由宗族送官究治,及時獲得官府的支持, 實現宗族司法與國家司法自然對接,國家法與民間法在此變得高度 契合。家規族訓雖不屬於國家法律體系,但無論是形式還是功能, 都與國家法律體系關聯密切,一定時期,可能與國家發生衝突,但 總體而言,家規族訓與國家法律多為互通、互動及互補關係,是維 繫基層社會秩序不可或缺的規則體系。家庭、宗族是教會人們遵守 規則的初始單位,宗族發揮的化解糾紛功能,分擔了國家的司法壓 力,降低了民眾的司法成本,節約了國家司法資源。

關鍵字:清代、宗族、糾紛化解

top

論《大清律例》與各部院則例的銜接

陳煜

摘要

《大清律例》與各部院則例相輔相成,構成清代法律的中心, 是統治者治國理政最為重要的工具。因為各部院事務存在交叉,則 例與律例法源相同,且律例作為刑法本身的特性,使得兩者能夠銜 接。《大清律例》通過吸收則例,與則例相互參照適用,並且作為 則例標準這三個方面,與各部院則例相銜接。在清代前中期,相對 銜接的程度更高,它促進了法律體系內部的統一,簡化了律典篇 幅,強化了律典的概括性,並且共同構築了一個嚴密的規則體系。 但是到了清代後期,銜接的不緊密,又導致了律例和則例的參差歧 異,給法律適用帶來很大的弊端,所以清末改革時要重新強調兩者 的銜接。當然,《大清律例》和各部院則例銜接的傳統,也有可能 使得「律例—則例」制向「各律」制部門法體系的轉化,變得沒那 麼困難。

關鍵字:《大清律例》、各部院則例、銜接、標準

top

乾隆八年《大清律例》的頒行

陳重方

摘要

透過現存的清代檔案,能夠具體勾勒出纂修《大清律例》的實 際進程與諸多細節。《大清律例》並非如同舊說,是在乾隆五年頒 發到全國的,確切情形其實是:乾隆元年開始纂修,五年纂修完 畢,六年繕寫刻樣告竣,八年刊刻結束、開始刷印,在八年到九年 之間,利用層層下發的方式達到「頒行天下」的效果。而釐清《大 清律例》的基本情形後,還可以對雍正律的爭議提出不同的看法, 並連帶指出官方典籍著錄的官修書頒行時間,未必就是真實的時 間。

關鍵字:大清律例、清代法律的頒行、清代法律體系、清代法制史

top

為愛鬼頭銀,命比鴻毛輕──清代命案中的賄買頂凶

李明

摘要


清代頂凶類案件是命案中審理的難點,該類案件自乾隆朝開始 顯著增多,從該類案件的發生區域與數量多寡來看,閩粵等地的械 鬥頂凶尤為引人注目。清代律例對頂凶案中受賄頂凶與行賄買凶之 犯等不同主體,及頂凶者係案內之人或案外之人等不同情節的懲處 規定,經歷了例文與司法實踐相互調適並進而修改的立法過程,大 體而言,其立法旨趣逐漸流於寬縱。對於一般類頂凶案件與閩粵等 地的械鬥頂凶案件,本文擬從社會與司法等方面剖析其生成機制, 藉此展現清代地方政府在案件審理中司法運行實態的某些方面。 關鍵字:頂凶、械鬥、宰白鴨、清代吏治、生成機制

top

人性、情理、法意──親親相隱的傳統與當代

黃源盛

摘要

人民有違法行為,從「法律之前,人人平等」的立法精神來 講,不宜因身分關係而有不同的對待,自應鼓勵其他人民告發,但 就人性掙扎的價值抉擇言,則或不然?此時,該何去何從?這是耐 人尋味而值得深思的課題。而揆諸中國歷代法制規範,自漢以迄清 末,有關親親相隱制幾乎代代相沿,少有更動;至於民國台灣百年 多來的刑事法中仍多所保留,甚至外國絕大多數國家的立法例,似 乎也選擇了親親得相為容隱的立法政策,何以致之? 值得探討的是,親親相隱制起源的歷史背景為何?容隱制進入 刑律規範的立意何在?容隱制存在於傳統中國及當代的民國刑法, 垂二千餘年而不輟,其根本原因是什麼?1949年以後同屬華人文化 圈的中國大陸何以捨棄親屬容隱制?今後的走向會是如何?以比較 立法例的觀念看來,容隱制的社會意義和價值是什麼?從兩岸華人 社會最近的修法動向又如何理解家族倫理與國民義務之間的消長關 係?凡此大哉之問,本文試著從刑法文化史與當代刑事法學的觀 點,一方面著重在規範流變的史實描述,另一方面從史觀詮釋其背 後的理論基礎,並尋繹其歷史與時代的雙重意義。

關鍵字:親親相隱、親屬拒絕證言、晚清民國刑法、情理法

top

知識移轉與國家創新 ──張君勱對歐洲代議制改造風潮的考察 (1919-1921)

陳惠芬

摘要

一戰過後,歐洲出現國家改造浪潮,新國家紛紛制定新憲法或 相關法律,舊國家也多從事憲法或相關法律的修訂,其共同的趨勢 則是代議制改造。從19世紀到20世紀,西方知識正經歷一個轉型過 渡的年代。這些新的憲法或法律被視為戰前新思想、新理論的結 晶,吸引了中國知識分子的注意。清末以來,張君勱即是一位憲政 主義者,推崇議會制度。本文以張君勱為中心,探討1919年至1921 年旅歐時期,他對歐洲代議制改造所作的考察。張氏的考察主要以 英、法、德、俄等國為主,分別代表不同的改造模式。他考察英法 的選舉和議會政治運作情況。由於英法議會政治使國家通過戰爭的 考驗,他對民主政治的價值更加肯定。德國經過短暫的蘇維埃革 命,最終回到代議制軌道。其改造內容,落實主權在民,且使德國 代議制在政治機關外,多了由資本家和工人代表聯合組成的經濟代 議機關,張君勱以其體現了自由主義和社會主義的調和,表示讚 賞。至於俄國以實行社會主義改造為由,推翻代議制,實施蘇維埃 制,張氏不予認同。張君勱對戰後歐洲代議制改造考察的論述,不

僅是1920年代前後中國知識界傳播和回應西方法制新知識熱潮的一 部分,更是他生命中法制知識建構的重要經驗和日後規劃中國國家 改造藍圖的知識基礎。

關鍵字:張君勱、代議制、威瑪憲法、蘇維埃制、社會主義

 

top

正史《刑法志》「文本」研究路徑舉要

趙晶

摘要

二十世紀以降,中外學界對於正史《刑法志》文本本身的研究 路徑大致可分為點校、譯注和文本型構分析三種,成果可謂宏富。 今後的研究,應著意於「文本型構」的問題意識,重估《刑法志》 的史料價值,開拓新議題。

關鍵字:刑法志、點校、譯注、文本型構分析

top

作為法學家的王世杰──學術與思想

劉猛

 

摘要

王世杰是近代史上重要的法學家,他自巴黎大學學成回國後在 北京大學任教,寫了一系列的學術論文討論近代代議制的改造問 題,主要研究憲法學上的女子參政、職業代表制、比例代表制的發 展趨勢。他還注重法治的發展和個人自由的保障,對北洋時期的法 律制度多有批判。此外,他運用所學的關於聯邦制的理論,分析其 時的中國政局,以期為中國的發展貢獻智識之力。

關鍵字:王世杰、職業代表制、比例代表制、聯邦制、領事裁判權

top

清代中國法秩序的原理與結構 ──《權利與冤抑:寺田浩明中國法史 論集》述評 

杜金

摘要

《權利與冤抑:寺田浩明中國法史論集》一書,是清代中國法 律史研究的典範之作。寺田浩明先生通過對東西方法概念的比較和 辨析,呈現了清代中國法概念、法體系、法秩序的獨特性,並剝離 出與近代西方法秩序不同的類型特徵。作者以全局性、貫通性的分 析框架,對清代中國的法律與實踐作出了概念清晰、邏輯自洽的解 釋;並打通社會與國家之間的聯繫,描繪出較為圓滿的法體系和法 秩序的整體圖像。作者將清代中國法秩序的形成原理置於法理學、 社會學及政治學的脈絡中分析和闡述,展現出強烈的理論追求;不 僅關注宏觀問題的思考與分析,對於清代土地法概念和慣例概念等 微觀問題,同樣有細緻和精彩的研究。

關鍵字:寺田浩明、清代中國、法秩序、形成原理、結構

top

中國法制史學會、中央研究院歷史語言研究所主編

back top